I hope the Russians love their children too

foto-4Sting’s song Russians  (at the foot of this article a live version in Moscow) has become very actual suddenly. The song was a loud wolf’s cry in the 80’s, a few years before the Berlin Wall came to an end. In the years of the Cold War no innocent Dutch inhabitant was killed by weapons of Russian origin. Last week almost 200 people from my small humble country has been shot down with their plane that flew to some freedom destination.

There has been written and talked much about the MH 17 catastrophe last week. There is a lot of sadness about the grown ups and children in the airplane. The West is pointing at Poetin. In an atmosphere of tension and stress some idiot made a mistake with his weapon that was delivered by the Russians. Now Poetin is kept responsible.

But the Russians are worried. That’s how it started. And it is predicted in the George Friedman bestseller The next 100 years written a few years ago. They don’t want to have the NATO at the borders of their country. They are afraid for an army so big. They consider it reasonable to defend themselves. So no games with the Ukraine is their way of thinking. But the West is worried too. They wonder why Poetin has become so hostile to the west suddenly. That is unsafe behavior for the West, especially when he turns his back to Europe to flirt with China.

It is all stupidity. The quarrels. I am absolutely not naive. As a son of a military officer I am used to talks about strategy and war. I know the idea that you have to be weaponed to protect your peace and freedom. I know that there are cruel people who doesn’t care about a human life. But that means that the people who do care should raise their voices. Against stupidity and warfare. And Sting did it. A reason to listen.

 

“Russians”

In Europe and America, there’s a growing feeling of hysteria
Conditioned to respond to all the threats
In the rhetorical speeches of the Soviets
Mr. Krushchev said we will bury you
I don’t subscribe to this point of view
It would be such an ignorant thing to do
If the Russians love their children tooHow can I save my little boy from Oppenheimer’s deadly toy
There is no monopoly in common sense
On either side of the political fence
We share the same biology
Regardless of ideology
Believe me when I say to you
I hope the Russians love their children tooThere is no historical precedent
To put the words in the mouth of the President
There’s no such thing as a winnable war
It’s a lie we don’t believe anymore
Mr. Reagan says we will protect you
I don’t subscribe to this point of view
Believe me when I say to you
I hope the Russians love their children too

We share the same biology
Regardless of ideology
What might save us, me, and you
Is if the Russians love their children too

Geef een reactie

